DEPARTMENT 1500— "Buchman Showmanship Sweepstakes" in memory of Bill Buchman

Saturday, August 3, 5:30 pm. In the Pratt Pavilion

Junior Fair Assistant: Jesicca Sautter Superintendent: Grace Dickson Beef Dawson Bushman Poultry Madelayne Lee Dairy Zack Bechstein Kennedy Ameling Market Goats Dairy Goats Samuel Head Swine Ben Jones Sheep Carter Lampe Ella Recker Horse Rabbit Kellan Miesmer

RULES

- 1. The contest is open to the Senior Showmanship winner in each of the following nine livestock departments: beef, swine, sheep, dairy, horses, market goats, dairy goats, rabbits & poultry.
- 2. The contest is divided into nine parts (one for each livestock department) with a different judge for each of the nine livestock departments represented.
- 3. In case someone wins 1st place showmanship in two or more departments, the department for each winner is determined by a coin toss.
- 4. Each member will show eight different species of animals. Members will not show the animal in the department they are representing. Members are expected to use the correct showmanship technique for all species shown.
- 5. The animals used in the contest will be selected by the Junior Fair Superintendent in charge of that particular department. Exhibitors cannot show their own animal. There will be a random draw to see who shows what animal.
- 6. Each judge will rate the participants on a scale of one to eight with one being the best. Member with the fewest total points in the nine departments will be the winner.
- 7. In case of a tie, hogs will be used as tiebreaker and then move backward through the list.
- 8. Showmanship Sweepstakes first place winners may not compete again, but non-winning participants may.
- 9. Order for showing: Horses, Beef, Market Goats, Dairy Goats, Dairy Cattle, Poultry, Rabbits, Sheep and Hogs.

Previous Showmanship Sweepstakes Winners:

1971 Lynn Holley (beef)

1972 Carolyn Brandeberry (sheep)

1973 Pat Kuhlman (horse)

1974 Tim Burnside (swine)

1975 Dan Frobose (beef)

1976 Phil Wenig (swine)

1977 Joe Haws (goat)

- 1978 Becky Cline (dairy)
- 1979 Doug Michaelis (swine)
- 1980 Mark Cline (dairy)
- 1981 Beth Haws (goats)
- 1982 Lisa White (horse)
- 1983 Jeff Digby (swine)
- 1984 Keith Limes (swine)
- 1985 Alan Brinker (beef)
- 1986 Dawn Michaelis (horses)
- 1987 Carol Warns (beef)
- 1988 Cindy Lee (rabbits)
- 1989 Jenny Feehan (poultry)
- 1990 Tammy Lee (rabbits)
- 1991 Mark Baden (swine)
- 1992 Jody Beaverson (sheep)
- 1993 Jon Lang (beef)
- 1994 Michelle Kahlenberg (poultry)
- 1995 Katie Kahlenberg (sheep)
- 1996 Susan Belleville (beef)
- 1997 Jenny Walters (dairy)
- 1998 Jerilyn Beaverson (goats)
- 1999 Lindsay Stevenson (poultry)
- 2000 Mitch Aring (beef)
- 2001 Josh Kellermeier (poultry)
- 2002 Kristen Schulte (dairy)
- 2003 Erin Limes (sheep)
- 2004 Jason Holleran (poultry)
- 2005 Alison Coe (poultry)
- 2006 Levi Richards (beef)
- 2007 Emily Limes- (sheep)
- 2008 Amanda Morlock- (swine)
- 2009 Hallie Frobose- (swine)
- 2010 Megan Limes- (swine)
- 2011 Hannah Frobose (swine)
- 2012 Dylan Jacobs (poultry)
- 2013 Allen Limes (beef)
- 2014 Logan Browne (goats)
- 2015 Buddy Limes (poultry)
- 2016 Morgan Mazey (beef)
- 2017 Jeremy Christoff (poultry)
- 2018 Addison Richards (goats)
- 2019 Montgomery Alexander (beef)
- 2020 Sydney Mazey (beef)
- 2021 Owen Brinker (sheep)
- 2022 Ben Jones (swine)
- 2023 Carter Lampe (beef)

Special Awards

Rosettes to all participants

Champion: Belt Buckle by Belleville Family – In Memory of Jamie Belleville

Banner by Wood County Farm Bureau

Reserve Champion: Banner by Agony Acres – Jim and Nancy Bostorff